can’t complain….

i am currently recovering from a very bad flu… er.. when is flu ever good eh?

for the past 3 or 4 days,, i was bedridden, never have i been this sick since moving here to Canada. i guess the pollution and not so clean environment in Manila somehow protected me from the virus he he, and here i am confined to living a sorta kinda dirt-free life that my immune system stopped functioning.. that’s how i imagined it..

my sister being a pharmacist, was the one monitoring my condition,, take this, drink that, get rest,, check your temperature,, but we don’t have thermometer at home, never thought of needing one,, and i got a bit of scolding he he.. i love my sister..

during those days i was in bed, i could hardly believe how mere flu can put me down. i was having crying bouts for reasons i couldn’t explain.. i wanted to be better ASAP, a lot of things going on in my mind….  it was as if all my fears appeared right in my front… i felt paralyzed…

on the other hand, it has also made me think less about my condition when i remembered Jonathan, my friend’s 16 year old son, handsome young man full of promise,  who had brain surgery and has been in and out of ICU for seizures,,,, when my only problem was my congested nose and not being able to taste what i eat,, thinking too of Jeedy, my friend who has lung cancer.. we used to exchange messages via facebook or emails, but she has not been in touch lately explaining that she did not have the energy to go online… why, i can still play online Ruzzle til the wee hours of the morning while recuperating…

can’t complain,, won’t complain… i also spent time praying,, and thanking God not because i am in a better condition than others, but because He gave me this flu to keep me grounded with life’s real aches and pain.. there are so much more pain happening in this world, and mine is just due to carelessness..

so…. i feel better now,,  i continue to pray for those who are ill,,, gravely ill… i pray that God takes them by His hand and ease their pain as He did with mine… eventually, we all get healed for as long as we entrust everything to our Healing God… emotional pain, physical pain.. He heals them all..

“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and do not forget all his benefits–who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good as long as you live so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” ~ Psalm 103:2-5

M.

2 thoughts on “can’t complain….

Leave a Reply

