looking for signs…

done with my 14th week of 16-week train plan. 19 days to go ’til race day! i followed a 16-week training plan i got from Runkeeper, but wondering why there’s one more extra week actually… but i’ll just stick to the schedule.. 

19 days

Saturdays are LSD days.. last Saturday, i almost was not able to do my last long run before taper time, if not for my habit of looking for signs to help me decide on a lot of trivial things..

i had chores to do on that day that I was considering running my LSD on Sunday. But to make it easier for me, I asked for a sign. Walking on my way home from lunching with friends, it was about 3 p.m., I told myself, if a lady runner ever crosses my path, then I will do it today.

in the past, I honestly rarely see lady runners in our area, so I was already looking forward to taking my nap when I get home or watch my recorded tv programs, when halfway through my walk, there she appears ‘round the corner in a bright pink shirt, a lady runner who I wished (at first) would never show up..

but, I’m glad she did. i had a great 18 km run, started at 4:07 p.m. and finished 2 hours and 3 minutes later. whew!! i was alone again, naturally.. had stitches @ 14kms but I recovered. i was able to tackle the uphill Queensborough Bridge and towards the Canada Way (in Burnaby) that has an elevation of 128 meters, good for my leg workout. done!

saturday run

i have often asked God for signs before i step into something i am unsure of, but, i need the Holy Spirit’s guide to lead me to where God will be pleased. let me warn you though that not all signs may be God’s will for you. then how do you know if the sign is from God?  if what you asked for is in accordance with His words, and it’s when circumstances facing you will make the decision easy to accomplish. i believe God always sends something that will make me think again, and re assess the situation.. however, despite these “system checks”, I still failed many times but my failures were the very experiences that helped me grow in faith and rely more on Him.  

do you ever ask for signs from God?  do it fervently, and with a trusting heart… remember that God will never fail you, He is always up to something good… 🙂

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;   I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.” ~Psalm 32:8

M.

Leave a Reply

