running and life pains…

i’m on week 12 of 16 week training for half marathon happening in May.

40 days to go…

when i started with my train plan last January, there was already a tinge of pain on my left heel. so week after week i did what i had to, rest, ice, massage, loosen up my heel, bought orthotic pads, “golf-balling”, stretching, even tried learning chi running!  from a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being sorest, mine is about 3 or 4. but it only happens at the beginning of my runs, then it just goes away about 5 to 10 minutes after.

also, for short runs,  i take a one-minute stop for water breaks since halfway through my route,  i pass by my house. then i observed that if i hit the road again, there’s the pain once more, for a few minutes, then gone…. until i finish my scheduled distance happily.

bigstock-Hope-Concept-41562589

you know runners have the tendency to continue running not really minding some aches and pains,, my husband would call it “crazy”, i call it “crazy passion” he he.. so, i know i can overcome this pain, and i see it as minor only, hoping it won’t get worse, fingers crossed. anyway, the event is happening soon, then after that, i can already either retire from running or just take it easy. so, no big deal actually.

this morning, before going out for my run, i was in pain,, heartbroken, i.e….but i decided to just gear up, with my eyes swollen (from crying), run my blues away.

0c3638a8a548fe270634c18d05593a126ee30ab724d488060f096cf1a3e31b1f

do you run away from hurts and pains?   i do.   but not without convincing myself that everything will be better. besides, i always remember that pain is just temporary, i mean, i know a lot may be physically in constant pain, but still, it’s gonna go away…. it will..

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.” ~Psalm 147:3

M.

Leave a Reply

