what a scam!!!

i was all ready to fall asleep, vibered my husband already to say good night, when i received an email from a friend in D.C. (my smartphone dings if an email comes in)… she said “you’ve been hacked!!” and another email from Manila said, “you are so hacked to death!!” then my mobile phone rings, she was my niece, telling me the same thing and lastly, a viber message from a friend in Canada.. “hey, did you really ask for money????” oh no, it’s all over!!!

yes, my email account has indeed been hacked.. i sent an apology email to all my contacts and told them that this is the real owner of this email and to please ignore the scam email, claiming i was mugged on my way to the airport and needed airfare money. some friends believed it since i really am taking my flight soon back to B.C. and one friend from abroad even emailed me back telling me to get the money from her sister here in Manila.. but i told her i never received any emails after i got hacked because the culprit changed my forwarding email address and here was how he/she did it:

email

at a glance you will not notice it but if you look closely, my first 3 letters “mar” was changed to “rnar” so all correspondence happening between me and my contacts are being blocked and sent to this scam address.

i think i have fixed the situation as of today, hoping that no body else will be sending money to this culprit. he/she even replied to my friend instructing her where to deposit it, good thing my friend received my email the next day (as this happened late the other night) before she did anything regretful!

it is so disheartening people do this to make easy money. i remember that part in the bible when the Lord Jesus said to Satan, “Where have you come from?” and Satan answered the Lord, “From roaming throughout the earth, going back and forth on it.” (Job 1:7). This is how i imagine these hackers, scammers, lurking here and there and looking around who they can steal from.. not only to steal money but  peace of mind as well. right now, aside from becoming more vigilant in our daily life’s routine, watching out our backs for any thing like this, we ought to be steadfast in prayer for God to protect us everyday and always..

to you all, be safe!

“The Lord will keep you from all harm, he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” ~Psalm 121:7-8

M.

One thought on “what a scam!!!

Leave a Reply

