right on red…

i took my long delayed road test yesterday, my first attempt, and as expected, i failed the test. reason: turned right on red x2..

187785_193089920724613_8293910_n

i forgot to make a full stop before turning right. (though, i do admit my error, i scanned the intersecting road, and found it clear of oncoming vehicle when i turned). these are still my bad driving habits acquired from home. i have shared about driving conditions in the Philippines in my past blog “these roads talk!!” . it is usually expected of old time drivers like me to fail the test on first try. rarely do drivers from not-so-good driving environs pass here in Canada.

it takes a LOT of discipline and self-control to change bad habits. i never make new year’s resolutions, which mostly will consist of things i promise not to be doing anymore, from procrastinating, to worrying, to overcoming my insecurities. it will only be frustrating to not being able to change despite telling myself i should!

i believe that if one desires truly to change something for the better in his/her life, it is only through the guidance of the Holy Spirit that we can achieve the virtue of self-control. if we allow the Holy Spirit to work in us, i know for sure, we will reap these fruits that God freely gives us. it happened to me when i quit smoking. some family members were not impressed saying i am not as hooked as they are that’s why it was easy for me to quit. yeah, two, three or on worse days five sticks a day for 22 years is not? we all have our own degree of addiction, if i may say it that way. i know in my heart that the Holy Spirit helped me quit.  by the way, i am 3 years and 7 months clean of nicotine 🙂

photo (2)

and how about my driving error? they say practice makes perfect. i have not practiced well enough that’s why i failed. despite driving for more than 20 years, all my acquired bad habits got rusted and stuck in my brain. dangerous!! i pray that i will be able to get rid of those and challenge myself to keep the correct driving skills for the public’s safety, and that is, by asking  the Holy Spirit again for my much needed instructions, and of course, with more practice.  

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23

M.

2 thoughts on “right on red…

Leave a Reply

