pay attention!

DSC09644 - Copy

i had a dream, i was lost in the woods and didnt know the way out.. there were no signs of any trodden paths, just tall trees, grasses all over, some dead, some green. i also didnt know exactly why i was there and where i was headed to. it was like i was in a middle of a chaotic silence..

then i stopped walking and looked closely. i noticed there was a way out after all, i was just not paying attention.. a hidden path covered by fallen leaves and the dead grass..

crossroadsi did not make that up, it was really a dream i had after i watched the movie “The Fugitive” where Harrison Ford, the fugitive, was running away from Tommy Lee Jones, a U.S. Marshal. Ford spent the night in the woods under a blanket of fallen leaves.. and perhaps, my dream was triggered by the book i was reading before i went to sleep, “Crossroads” (by WM Paul Young). in it, the main character collapses due to vertigo and woke up seeing himself lost in the woods with crossroads that he didn’t know which way to go…

thinking about it, i feel that my dream is trying to tell me something important. how do i deal with my trials and difficulties, do i panic or get lost or do i choose to face them with a calm heart and mind? it is better to stop and think and pay attention and fully trust God to take over, rather than begin worrying and not being able to think clearly.

i remember the bible verse read last week in church, “Let not your hearts be troubled, believe in God, believe also in me” ~John 14:1. the reader further shared that in the dictionary, “LET” means to allow or to permit. this simply tells me to NOT LET my heart be troubled, lest i will allow trouble to overwhelm me and drown me out.

how about you, when trouble comes, do you worry a lot or stay calm?

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

M.

Leave a Reply

