all psyched up!!

yes, that’s how i feel for my upcoming 2nd half marathon event, the BMO Vancouver Marathon on May 05, barely 23 days left!!! i am super excited to run the course, beautiful Vancouver sceneries and all the music and entertainment they promised to have on that day… 

here`s a nice short video post by RunVancouver on youtube:

Last year, i had a month before the race day when i finally decided to register for the Scotiabank Vancouver Half Marathon, there was only 4 weeks of training but still gave me good finish time, not bad for a first time half marathon runner.

now, there is ample time to prepare myself because i signed up since December (few minutes before they upped the registration fees), that means 4 months of training as compared with the 4 weeks i had last year. my weekly 2 short runs and one long run training plan became a bit easy (ahem) for me, that i feel i am all ready and anxious for the day to come.. woot woot!!! hehe..

reached my targeted pace of 6 mins per km yesterday

well, there’s one reason i have to make good my run this time. you see, i will be traveling for a vacation to see my family back home and have delayed my flight because of this event, missing my beloved niece’s university graduation last April 02 (guilty)… i have thought of this as my motivation to really give my all so that everything will make sense.

i dedicated my long run last Saturday to two of my friends, one was Blynn, who was celebrating her birthday, for being my only running buddy here in B.C., and the other to my high school batchmate, who will be undergoing chemotherapy after having surgery last March, hoping and praying for her complete healing.

4-07-13 RUN

and how does my running relate to these? sometime in the past, my mother used to tease me that i quit so easily, in fact, i was diagnosed to have the affliction called “quit-itis” (sounds like hepa-titis). running to reach my goal gave me confidence and thinking about some of my friends, who have their own struggles, kept me motivated to just go, as running is much easier than what they may be going through.. running may just give me physical pain, while they could have deeper kinds of pain.

so, now i feel everything is complete, from my motivation and training, i am physically, mentally, spiritually, ready to run and finish my race… and the Lord runs with me.. 🙂

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,  to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.“ -Ephesians 3:20-23

M.

2 thoughts on “all psyched up!!

Leave a Reply

