if God says so…

the running community back home is now mourning for the untimely demise of an avid runner, Mr. Romel Defeo. I never knew him personally, but i don’t know why i am so moved by this occurrence. apparently, he collapsed around the 18th km mark running the half marathon at last Sunday’s PSE Bull Run held at the Global City. cause of his death was Hypokalemia.
when a friend posted the condolence message on facebook, i searched and found out that he was 35 years old, and the president of a run club, Sigue Correr Runners club (“keep running” in spanish). sometimes you would think someone who is so young and physically active as he was is far from anything like this to occur but we can never tell.
i, for one, have always been warned by my sister to take it easy, as i have heart beat irregularities. i’ve had my thyroidectomy 30 years ago, and i still do feel some discomfort once in a while. but not during running. in fact, i feel fine, so i think..
yes it is very true that we runners should know our limits and be more conscious of health conditions before we hit the road for long runs or trail hikes. i discipline myself by not pushing myself too hard, i avoid comparison traps that will only lead me either to frustration or overdoing what my body cannot. also, i try to read as much as i can so that i will understand more how my body deals with the pressure or simply just to prepare myself. but no matter how prepared we are, if God says it’s over, then it is so.
RUNNING BOOKS
for me, each day i wake up is a thanksgiving that i am given one more day to draw nearer to Him. if and when the day of beckoning comes, i will be ready to meet with my Creator, even if i’m still on my 10th, 15th, or 19th km mark, my race is finished.
DSC09601 - Copy
i believe that Mr. Defeo’s passing away has already been recorded in his book of life even before he was born. the day it happened, it was not Murphy’s law, it was not coincidence, it was not the lack of time, nor lack of or delayed medical attention, if it was the case, no, it was planned for already by the Almighty, that is my own belief. if God says so, then it will be.
Sincere condolences to Mr. Defeo’s family.
“Romans 14:8
For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.”
M.
Leave a Reply

