5 days to go…

i got 5 days left to running my first half marathon on Sunday.
i told my friend who “announced” my feat through a group email saying “LUGS will be running her first half marathon, good luck, LUGS!”, that it is not a big deal, that i am embarrassed…

truth is, it is a big deal for me hehe… to the effect that, i have written down what to wear, what to bring, what to prepare before and on the race day… been trying on my running gears, which one will look best on me, in case the official photographer takes my snapshot (which, by the way will be another expense but i hear they are pretty steep)..

it is taper week, so, i have been off the ground for the last 2 days (actually healing a slight foot ache) but finished a good 8 kms this afternoon by the seawall again. so now as i rest, i get to sit and think about my forthcoming run as well as how everything has come up to this..

i have been athletically prone but maybe because when i was younger, we did not have the means to go and have proper training, not much encouragement from the family as no one was really into any serious sports. i only know a little bit of this and that, so it was kind of frustrating that i only sit and watch as my more sporty friends hit the hard courts or the oval or the pool.. i know in my heart, i could have been like one of them.

so God decided to send me the people who would finally influence me to run. there’s Allyn, my High School batchmate, Laila, my long time neighbor, and now Evelyn, who worked in the same office i did, all of whom i never knew that they do run and the rest is wonderful running history for me. TO GOD BE THE GLORY FOR EVER…

M.

PSALM 139:16 “You saw me before I was born.  Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.”

(click on photo to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

