my birthday month..

two days from today, it will be the start of my birthday month.

how do i celebrate it? first, let me tell you about my age.. if i am turning 48 in Gregorian calendar (which i am, and which calendar we all normally follow), i should be turning 49 in Chinese calendar.. then in some Chinese beliefs, (for which my family believed in this), the number 9 of any age is skipped (for superstition-i don’t have any idea what and why) so in this instance, 49, we count it as 50…

therefore, i am 50 years old?? Praise God.. haha..not that i want to advance my age sooner  (except for the senior’s discounts i will be enjoying), i just feel good saying that i am 50… 🙂

okay all superstitions and what ever beliefs aside, how will i celebrate my birthday? nothing much, except for one, a gift for myself, i will be running my very first half marathon via the Scotiabank Vancouver Half Marathon event on June 24. you see, i ran the 5km distance for about 2 years since i started running, then i moved on to running 10kms.. now i will take a stab at doing half, just before i turn 50, then i can say to myself, i made it. 🙂

my husband wants to take me out of town as his present for me as i have been bugging him to bring me to this and that place.. but with the registration for the run event and all the other expenses the come with the training (including coffee times and lunch out with my running buddy, Evelyn and what nots).. i told him we can just do the usual, simple dinner at home or any fine dining place.

i am so thankful to God for all the blessings He has given me all these years. truly He keeps His promise to take care of me and for all that i have received, what else can i give back to Him except to love Him with all my heart and my soul and my mind (Matthew 22:37 “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind”). i am happy… i am happy God created me. i am happy to share my happiness.. To Him be the Glory!

Psalm 71:6
From birth I have relied on you; you brought me forth from my mother’s womb. I will ever praise you.

M.

One thought on “my birthday month..

  1. So you will be now 50 years old? Advance happy birthday Lugs. I enjoyed reading your blog and please keep on posting .

Leave a Reply

