above all these….

sunday…
4:45 a.m. my alarm went off… (pressed snooze)
4:55 a.m. my alarm went off… (pressed snooze)
5:05 a.m. my alarm went off… (pressed snooze)
5:15 a.m. my alarm went off… (pressed snooze)
5:25 a.m. my alarm went off… (pressed STOP- finally)

I planned to run early today to begin my training for the upcoming Adidas KING OF THE ROAD (KOTR) run in October… ahem,, this time will run 10kms.. call it hopeless… i am hopeful it will happen. however, the way i dallied with my alarm clock this morning,, hmmm,,, will i make it or not? should i do it or not? can i do it or not?

by 5:55 a.m. i was already at the oval, an hour late from my original plan, started with my warm ups. i seldom run in the morning so was not used to seeing a crowded oval (especially with seniors)…. if not for the rains every afternoon, then i would very much prefer running early evening…

it was a good practice run, saw a few running club members, saw an old acquaintance, Bobot, our printer from way back.. i remember he cycled, but he told me he’s also been into running since 1997, even ran long distances, full marathon, a trivia i never knew. Talking to him encouraged me all the more to aim for a longer distance run..

finished my 5kms in 35.29 minutes hehe,,, as usual… thank God i can still do this…

before i set off for the oval, or every morning upon waking up, i said my prayers, this time using the words of the following song…

ABOVE ALL:

Above all powers (my privilege as the “BOSS” of my company)
Above all kings (the bank managers, government authorities, traffic authorities)
Above all nature (the air i breathe, the water i drink, the blue sky)
And all created things (my car, my celphone, my clothes, my house, my workplace)
Above all wisdom (my college degree, my ability to recognize things, my sanity)
And all the ways of man (everything that i do)
You were here
Before the world began

Above all kingdoms (the world where i move about)
Above all thrones (my achievements, my so-called “glory”)
Above all wonders
The world has ever known (places i’ve been to, where my eyes have seen)
Above all wealth (the cash in my wallet, my savings, my diamond)
And treasures of the earth
There’s no way to measure
What You’re worth

YOU are ABOVE ALL these things i have mentioned above. YOU are above my problems, my triumphs, my worries, my hopes… and for these, YOU areworthy to be praised and magnified, O God.

I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies. Psalm 18:3

M.

Leave a Reply

