psalm 23

i wrote the following notes from church one Sunday in 2008 (June 06, 2008), it was very very enlightening and i want to keep these notes by adding to my blog (I wasn’t into blogging then). Pastor Peter Tan Chi of CCF (Christ’s Commission Fellowship) was the speaker

PSALM 23:

1 The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

   not “was” or “will be” but “IS”, it means up to the present time, He is my shepherd.  i shall not be in need of anything as long as the LORD IS my shepherd.

 

 

2 He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,

   the sheep will not lie down unless fully satisfied, they refuse to drink from noisy streams because they think they will fall and get wet and drown because their wool will get heavier. the shepherd usually creates a dam to gather water and for the sheep to drink.  only the shepherd will do these for his flock.

 3 he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

     not for the sake of anybody else but HIM. a shepherd who owns the flock will guide his sheep so that they will not go astray. they say, for the sheep who goes out of their pen, it was practiced that shepherds sometimes intentionally break sheep’s leg to keep them from going out the corral, (i dont know about this, i tried researching the web if true or not) then while healing, the shepherd would carry them, feed them, until the leg is healed, and the sheep ready to be let go, by this time, the sheep will never leave the shepherd’s side…

 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

      once the grass in the valley has been grazed, the shepherd further looks for greener pasture, usually in the higher areas. this always entails a difficult climb uphill, especially for a shepherd tending his flock… the rod, is that long stick (usually with hooked end) to guide the sheep so they won’t leave the flock, the staff, is used to hit them at times… GOD will always look for something better for us. where you are is always where the grass is green because it is where GOD placed you, as a shepherd would bring his sheep to a greener pasture.

5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.  You anoint my head with oil;  my cup overflows.

      to protect the sheep from infections or parasites, the shepherd would apply oil or balm on the sheep’s head as a repellant so that flies will not bother them, or any other insects.  How great is the Lord to protect us always from sickness, he is our great healer.  we can see how much love and care a shepherd gives his flock. and we, flock members, are blessed so much we don’t even know it.

6 Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

AMEN…

P.S. to my above notes from 2008, I learned today from OUR DAILY BREAD, when sheep overturn, like fall on their side and onto their back (they call it cast down), they cannot get up without the help of the shepherd. What happens is they will bleat and cry and gas will collect in their stomach causing them to suffocate.  The good shepherd then reassures the sheep by turning the sheep over, massaging the sheep’s legs and holds the sheep to get back on her feet once again, steadily…

so much we are like the sheep, tended by our Lord lovingly…HOW GREAT IS OUR GOD in restoring us, lifting us up, holds us until we get back on our two feet again and start anew.. 😀

 M.

Leave a Reply

