LISTEN TO THE RAIN…

Is summer really over?  I hate to admit it but i prefer rainy days than summer days.  Yes, yes, I know the threat of having too much rain from where i live, as it caused major disaster last year (Hurricane Ketsana/Ondoy) which claimed many lives, here, in our exact neighbourhood.

However, RAIN,, for me, is that time, when I have to stay indoors and spend time with myself, enjoy the cool drizzle or downpour, listen to the whooshing of rainwater, and just taking it easy… sans the thought of another hurricane, that is an exception to the rule. 

In a country where we only have two seasons, wet and the dry seasons,  I will say that I love rain more, because it brings back the aura of my childhood when we would ask permission from Grandma if we can go out and play in the rain, or stay indoors and cuddle up in bed and be wary of nothing.  Oh how I loved standing under the broken downspouts at the corners of our house eaves, where rainwater fell heavily like the bathroom shower we never had (we used dippers )….he he…

Some say rain brings gloom in our hearts.  Do you think so too?  Now, looking out my window, I can hear raindrops, I feel good and happy.  I think it is more apt to say that what’s in my heart is  how I should feel.  Gloom or joy, regret or fulfilment, it is all up to me.  All i know is “i believe for every drop of rain that falls, a flower grows..” and right now, i love rain, and i want it to be a happy occasion when it rains.  🙂

“Sing to the LORD with thanksgiving;  make music to our God on the harp.   He covers the sky with clouds;
       he supplies the earth with rain and makes grass grow on the hills.”  PSALM 147:7~8

M.

Leave a Reply

