TOO HOT TO HANDLE….

 
 
 
 
 
 
(article from The Philippine Star, April 07, 2010)
Last night, it was a sweltering 33 degrees in my bedroom… i have stopped turning on my A/C since January, except on some occasions, like my bi-monthly body massage (you don’t want to have sweaty massage do you?), or when nights i feel i deserve some comfort hehe.. i will concede to turning it on for just an hour or two…  
Okay, so last night was one of those nights. Came home from my practice run, (yes, i run regularly at the city oval, and we will talk about my running for sure), all sweaty and sticky, i decided to pamper myself even for an hour..
After my cold refreshing shower, i went to bed, turned off the A/C around 9:15 pm, when i thought the room was cool enough to doze off.
Lo and behold,,, 12 midnight, i was still wide awake,, tossing and turning, waiting for the “morning cool breeze” to creep into my windows (which is a myth nowadays, by the way), but all i get was the warm air blown by my small electric fan (hopeless)… this is what i put up with EVERRRRRY NIGHT since Christmas cool air has far gone!!
What do i need to do?
NOTHING, literally!…. as i lie down spread eagle… on my super king sized bed (80” x 80”- courtesy of my friend, who gave me the mattress after Ondoy / Ketsana damaged all our beds), was in my tank top and short shorts, no skin should touch any other skin on my body, lest it will sweat, no muscle should move that will cause metabolism, which will cause more heat, it was soooooooooo hot!
I began to “chant” my prayer i always utter in times of “trouble”… “LORD JESUS, PUT ME TO SLEEP, PUT ME TO SLEEP, PUT ME TO SLEEP, PUT ME TO SLEEP, PUT ME TO SLEEP, PUT ME TO SLEEP….” ZZZZZZzzzzzzzzznooorrrrkkkkkk…..
And the rest is history!
Now it’s morning, a new day has begun, with renewed spirit, with renewed hope, a little sweaty smell ewww! but with a smile on my face, thanking Him for a good night’s sleep that He finally granted. Let tonight’s ordeal wait.. he he…
Lamentations 3:22~23 “Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”
 
M.
Leave a Reply

